Reviews

48 five-star reviews …. on Airbnb & TripAdviser

Reviews on Trip Adviser & Holiday Lettings ……  

“Fantastic venue for our yoga retreat”
We hired The Healthy Home as a venue for a weekend yoga retreat and it was just fantastic. The guests loved the house, as did we. It accommodated us brilliantly – there were 11 of us in total, and we used the Big Room as a yoga studio. The house is huge but feels cosy and homely due to the quirky layout and variety of rooms. It meant there was always somewhere for the guests to go if they wanted their own space, or to socialise as a group.

Everyone had privacy in their own rooms, and felt at ease to use the house to its full potential. We catered in-house and the kitchen suited us fine, and there was plenty of room for us to eat in the dining room. The beds are incredibly comfortable, and we used the option of putting additional air beds in a couple of the double rooms and these were also surprisingly comfy. The house is sited in beautiful, peaceful countryside which was a great backdrop for our weekend, and fantastic for our walks – both long and short. It’s really easy to get to and our guests arrived by train (with us picking them up) or directly by car.

I could see my guests visibly relax as they walked in the door and we couldn’t get them to leave at the end of the weekend! Thank you so much to Gina for providing such a great venue, we will definitely be back. – Lucy and Stu 2015 (www.Lucyoga.com)

“Fantastic place to stay, highly recommend”
Myself and 9 friends spent a weekend in the healthy home to celebrate a 30th birthday. From the offset Gina the owner was incredibly helpful and she kept in regular contact with me to see if there was anything she could do for us whilst we were there. She sent me numerous links to local bars/restaurants and also provided some suggestions in regards to activities we could do both locally and in the house given that we were celebrating a birthday. The house is a little hard to find at first, unfortunately the postcode only takes you so far and then you have to find the rest of the way yourself however once you’ve found it it’s easy to find again it becomes quite simple!

The house itself is beautiful and the sheer size of it was simply gobsmacking the rooms were never ending. I would recommend that if you are spending a couple of nights there to spend at least one of them in the house to make use of all of the space that there is. We spent the first night in the ‘party room’ and it was more accommodating for all of us along with the numerous games that we had brought with us. Skipton town centre is about 15 mins in a taxi and there are pubs and bars and shops to keep you entertained so although it’s in the countryside you won’t be stuck in the middle of nowhere. If you are thinking of renting the house then please do so, you won’t regret it. I will definitely be looking at coming back”

“The best place we’ve stayed – highly recommended!!”

Screen Shot 2015-06-12 at 20.51.54“Gina, our host, was fantastic in the run up to our stay, sending detailed emails and calling me to offer her services and ask if there was anything we needed. 12 friends and I spent the weekend there in June and were blown away by it. We have stayed in many places over many years of get togethers and I can say this is the best place we’ve ever stayed in.

The rooms are all clean and well maintained with all the amenities you could wish for (even little trampolines for kids) and can cater for all party sizes. Because of the way it is laid out you could just as easily have your own space as be all together. The garden and the views are stunning and although it is quite remotely situated it’s not far to find shops, pubs etc. We had booked a canal trip for the day out of Skipton so this was an ideal place to retreat to after a day on the water.

It is true that some may find it tricky to find at first (though we found Gina’s directions to be excellent) but that’s exactly what is part of this place’s charm, set well away from any roads so it is perfectly peaceful and relaxing! Before we even left the property we had decided we want to go back. From booking to leaving and everything in between, Gina and the housekeepers could not have been friendlier or more helpful – very highly recommended!! ” – Paul June 2015

IMG_2159

“Spacious, characterful home in the heart of serene countryside”

“The Healthy Home was an excellent getaway for a large group. The fact this is an already lived in house made the stay more relaxing as it was already populated with all the things that make a place homely.   The kitchen was the heart of the home during our stay and made all the better with a wood burning stove and seating for about 10.

The view from the newest part of the house is stunning whether it’s bright sun or rain and, whilst feeling very rural (one of the main reasons we booked) there are a number of towns relatively close and not too expensive via local taxis.

A very thorough briefing email was provided by the owner prior to the stay and there are details of local activities, places of interest and walks already in the house.”  Michael May 2015

“Spectacular rental for a large group”

“We were a group of 11 friends going away for a weekend catch up. The accommodation is isolated enough to allow for spectacular views and good walks on the doorstep, but only a 10 minute drive from local amenities. We were welcomed by Joanne, one of the housekeepers, on our arrival who showed us around the property and explained where everything was. The house itself is astonishingly nice, with plenty of relaxing spaces, a good size kitchen/dining room and large bedrooms meaning that you never feel cramped. We were lucky enough to have good weather for our stay and so we were able to enjoy the garden on the Friday evening which, like the rest of the property, was well laid out and a pleasure to spend time in.”  Andrew May 2015

IMG_2174

“Awesome location, amazing home, accommodating owners”

“We stayed at healthy home for a couple of days after our wedding. Gina and her team of housekeepers went out of their way to make our weekend special. The had left flowers and chocolates in the ‘bridal suite’ (main bedroom) and when Gina heard we were having a lunch for our friends and family she went into catering mode and made suggestions for easy food for us to put on, even getting an oven full of spuds cooking for us before we arrived. They couldn’t do enough for us and I would thoroughly recommend anyone with a large group to stay at Healthy Home. The house is stunning and the views spectacular. Thanks so much”  Jonathan from Sydney, Australia May 2015

“Singularly enchanting”
“Gina’s Healthy Home is like nowhere else I have ever stayed. Not only in a wonderful location and beautifully laid out, but also packed with interesting features and curios. It was an education for our group of ten not particularly spiritually inclined or harmonious 30-year old chaps. We found it difficult to decide which of the many lovely sitting rooms to hang out in next. Soothed by the overall effect of the place after three days, everyone was very reluctant to head back to their city jobs and boring houses and flats.” -Daniel June 2015

“Dream location, dream home and sweet dreams”
“I dearly love Gina’s Healthy Home. It is truly a magical home filled with every comfort, not just an impersonal rental . It’s peaceful, and quiet. Great walks, convenient to train and town. Amazing views. Wonderful spaces for gathering, enjoying a meal or being alone. I can’t wait to return.” – Joanie from Connecticut USA 2013

“Away from the Madding Crowds”
“If you want VERY comfortable peace and quiet, unbelievable views, and walking to die for ( not literally hopefully) this is the place for you and family or friends, Winter or Summer.” – Frank 2013

“Great place for a family Christmas get-together”
Since my brother has lived abroad for many years and both our eldest children are now over 20 without ever having spent Christmas together, we thought it was time to remedy that…   We wanted somewhere big enough to take all of us, plus our parents, but with enough space so that we were not all on top of each other. It also needed to be close enough to my parents house so that they did not have to stay all the time if necessary.
The cottage met all these requirements, and more….
There were more than enough lounges and rooms to give everyone plenty of space, although the cottage is on a number of levels with stairs between (sometimes steep) so probably not suitable if you have any in your party who are infirm or very young.
The main lounge is huge with enough space for us also to be able to invite my Uncle, cousins and family for lunch one day. We managed to comfortably fit 15 around the large table (although it was a bit of a trek to get the dishes up from the kitchen). A massive TV in the TV lounge, plus a great stock of DVDs. Although there is internet access that is good enough for email, web browsing etc. there is not enough bandwidth for Netflix and streaming video services, so if your little ones just have to have their favourite movie, bring it with you!   The views from the conservatory and panorama lounge were both stunning – the cottage is very high on a hill above the Aire valley – so we could see a long way towards Keighley.  There are a number of routes to get to the cottage, but most have some narrow/steep bits at some point. The final section is on a dirt track over a small rise (you can’t see the cottage from the road). There is parking for around 6 cars near the cottage.
Gina did an excellent job of getting us settled in, helping with queries about navigation, facilities etc. It would be nice to have time there in summer when we could spend more time in the garden”.  Julian December 2016

“We traveled from all over the country for Grandad’s 80th”
“Our large family group consisted of all age groups and we traveled from all over the country and Denmark to be there for a very special birthday weekend, we arrived at night in very bad weather conditions to a warm welcome from Gina, who was keen to ensure we all had everything we needed for a wonderful stay. The house is everything the other reviews said and more spacious yet cosy and everyone had privacy and felt at home straight away. The views are spectacular and our only complaint was that we wished we were staying longer than two nights. Thank you Gina we would love to return again one day to experience the house and gardens in summer.” – Darren

“What a week ! Fantastic summer holiday in the Dales.”
“We found the house to be a wonderful peaceful retreat for our four generation get together ! During our week we packed in plenty of fantastic excursions around Skipton and the Dales as well as having plenty of time to chill out in the lovely gardens.
The views were breathtaking and were wonderful to wake up to. When the sun came out breakfast on the terrace felt like we were in Tuscany !  There was plenty of space for our big tribe and most importantly the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed for our daily feasts.
The house is interesting and quirky and we loved the little touches like teddies for the kids, the table of games, the walking maps and the books to read.  It was a perfect week of relaxation and fun, we all want to return to this extraordinary house.” – Julie August 2014

“Absolutely lovely house to stay in!”
“This house is brilliant for friends and family to stay in. Gina, the owner was great and always on the end of the phone if we needed her! Would recommend to anyone wanting some time away in a large group as it has such great rooms and views. Easy access into Skipton also. We will be returning!” – Emma December 2015

Reviews on Airbnb

Screen Shot 2015-06-12 at 20.55.13

 

 

“Quirky and cottagey in a spectacular location, with amazing views”
“This is the second time we’ve stayed at the Healthy Home in the last few months, and both visits have been lovely.   The house is great, full of character, quirky and cottagey in a spectacular location, with amazing views. It’s divided up in such a way that you can be altogether in a group or find your own little nook. Gina, the owner, is great with the communication and does everything possible in advance of arrival to make sure that you’re informed and taken care of – the house manual is also very thorough. We felt welcome in the house and that everything had been thought of.     It’s tricky to find, so when Gina says try to arrive in the light, it’s advice worth taking on board.  Overall a great stay and I’m sure we’ll visit again!”
-Aaron March 2015

“Best Airbnb, beautiful property”
“Best Airbnb I’ve stayed in for sure. The organised manner that everything went through was flawless and a beautiful property and location. Thank you so much for the experience” –  Lawrence May 2016

“Perfect for a large group for New Year, warm & inviting, stunning location”
“We had a wonderful time during our stay in Gina’s home. We were a group of 10 friends, 5 couples, that booked the whole cottage for a New Year stay. Gina was a fantastic host, extremely communicative, welcoming and very thorough in her explanation of the house.

The cottage itself was perfect for a large group, with enough communal spaces to be together, cook together and eat together, as well as plenty of individual areas for some quiet time. The large flat screen TV and sound system in the cosy lounge made a perfect space for a movie night! The atmosphere of the cottage is warm and inviting, particularly the lovely kitchen with wood-burning stove.

The location of the cottage is stunning, with amazing views over the Yorkshire countryside, exactly what we were looking for: remote countryside with walks straight from the door. Skipton is a short drive away handy for train station and pubs, and great walking in amazing scenery at Malham is just a 30 min drive away.”
Caroline January 2015

“We’d recommend the Healthy Home to everyone .. fantastic!”
“WOW! The Healthy Home is one of the most breath-takingly fantastic homes we’ve ever stayed in. The huge house has everything you wished for and more: stunning views from every room, fantastic surroundings, birdsong, very clean and tidy house, private places for you to unwind, ridiculously comfortable beds and more! The housekeeper had made a fresh loaf of bread and there was welcome milk and butter. Both Gina and Jo were very helpful and communicative. We had a truly wonderful stay and would recommend the Healthy Home to everyone! Thanks”
Daniela April 2015

“Beyond expectations”
“The cottage was far beyond expectations. The whole house was homely and comfortable. We would recommend this home to any one and would love to come back again 🙂 ”
– Amy May 2015

From Our Guest Book

Dickie’s Wedding Weekend: “Thanks Gina for a lovely stay.  It was the perfect setting for a celebratory weekend and a great chance to enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire countryside”. – Jo & Friends 2015

IMG_2165

Betty’s 90th Birthday: “This lovely house has has added so much to my enjoyment of the extraordinary day – children, grandchildren, great grandchildren, nephew and niece – all have found something intangible here – thank you!”
Betty March 2015

“Thank you for the lovely home.  Really have had a good time on the trampoline.  This house has been very calm and I hope to come here again soon”. – Clare aged 9 (part of Betty’s party)

“We enjoyed every minute in your beautiful home – what a view!  And we had sunshine too!”   Alison (part of Betty’s party)

75th Birthday Celebration: “The stay has been very enjoyable and we can feel the life and health in the home.”
-The Coopers and The Willings March

“Had a wonderful time at The Healthy Home.  We are a group of friends that renewed bonds after some years.  These bonds have been strengthened once again and there is a new positive energy that surrounds our collective.”  King & Co

“Thank you for the best weekend I have had in a long time Gina.  I truly appreciate the hospitality and love and laughter.”  -Antonetta 2014

“We have had an amazing time staying at your beautiful home.  We filled your house with laughter and fun.  Thank you.”  Tony and Family

Birthday Fun!

image3

image1

Save

Save

Save

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s